The Great Escape – Fiona Gibson

Can any woman ever grab back a piece of her younger self? For one weekend only, Hannah, Sadie and Lou are determined to give it their best shot.

Laugh-out-loud funny from the author that bought you Mum On The Run. Fiona’s writing deals with the real life cringe-worthy moments we all know so well…

Hannah’s getting married… and has serious pre-wedding jitters. She adores Ryan but can’t figure out how to fit into his grown-up, family-sized life. There’s that fridge, for starters. That, too, is family-sized, with a gadget on the front that spits ice in her face. More alarming still are Ryan’s children, Daisy, 10 and Josh, 13, who clearly don’t relish the prospect of Hannah, a free-spirited greetings card illustrator, becoming their step-mum.

So she fires off invitations to a hen weekend — just the ticket to get her into the marrying mood. Trouble is…

New mum Sadie is leaving her twin babies for the very first time with their terrified dad…

Lou is unaware that her long-term man Spike is desperate to bundle her onto that Glasgow-bound train so he can hot-foot it round to see his secret fling Miranda…

And, unbeknown to the girls, Johnny, their sexy upstairs neighbour from their art college days, is still frequenting those haunts, desperately in need of a little magic to happen.

Perfect for fans of Jane Costello, Kate Long and Tess Stimson.

I’m going to be honest and say that I didn’t enjoy this book.  Don’t get me wrong it’s an okay story.  But it’s just that – it’s an okay book.  It’s quite slow to begin with.  With so many characters introduced at one time; it was a bit difficult to remember who was who.  Also it didn’t seem to go anywhere, it was quite a while into the book when the girls went on their great escape and ended quite abruptly.  This is the first book I’ve read from Fiona Gibson, think I’ll try another one of hers just to see if I don’t get on with her writing style or if it’s just this book!

%d bloggers like this: