Monday To Friday Man – Alice Peterson

 He proposed. She accepted. He changed his mind. She was heartbroken.

What do you do if you’re 34 and recovering from being jilted two weeks before your wedding day?

While friends are marrying, having children and moving to the depths of the countryside, Gilly Brown finds herself alone in London with just her little dog Ruskin for company. It’s time to move on, so, on a friend’s advice she looks for a lodger, a Monday to Friday one, and finds handsome television producer Jack Baker. Gilly falls for Jack’s charm and is transported into an exciting social whirlwind of parties, dining out and glamour.

When Jack is introduced to Gilly’s family and friends, it’s only the attractive and eccentric Guy, the newest recruit in the dog walking group, who isn’t quite so convinced about Jack’s intentions. As Guy watches them grow closer, his suspicions of Jack and his feelings for Gilly deepen. Is Jack so perfect after all… and what exactly does he get up to at the weekends?

 

I loved this book.  Its touchingly (is that a word?) written.  I was bawling my eyes out when Guy lights a candle for  Megan and the way that Alice has written in the storyline of Megan is so beautiful.  I couldn’t put this book down, and read it really quickly.  It touches so many subjects without getting heavy and is well described in that I could picture every scene and character.  Guy was definitely my favourite I could see exactly what he looked like and loved the hats!  And I was routing for him and Gilly (with a G) to get together.   I didn’t want it to end.

I’m rating this as a must read.  My next book is Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

I love to hear what you think, please leave me a message

