The Horse Dancer – Jojo Moyes

 From the bestselling author of Me Before You and two-time winner of the RNA Novel of the Year award.

In a hidden corner of London, Henri Lachapelle is teaching his granddaughter and her horse to defy gravity, just as he had done in France, fifty years previously. But when disaster strikes, fourteen-year-old Sarah is left to fend for herself.

Forced to share a house with her charismatic ex-husband, her professional judgement called into question, lawyer Natasha Macauley’s life seems to have gone awry. When her path crosses that of Sarah, she sees a chance to put things right.

But she doesn’t know that Sarah is keeping a secret, one that will change all their lives forever . . .

Finally a book which correctly describes my feeling and bond I have with my horse.  I was lucky enough to have lessons with well known Classical Dressage instructor – and what JoJo has captured is so true and correct.  Her acknowledgements dedicate this book to Mecca Harris a real life Sarah who was tragically murdered.  I found the book so moving, and gripping.  I could relate to it totally, the sacrifices made to be able to have a horse, the rewards and partnership you can have when you get it right.  My story isn’t the same as Mecca or Sarah, but many of my weekends were spent helping out at my local riding school.  Unable to have a horse when I was a child, it was a dream that I focused on, something which got me through the bullying and challenges at school.  For me I was only able to have a horse when I could pay for it myself so, knowing I had to have a decent job to pay the livery, and basic care costs; I knuckled down at college but didn’t go to University.  I went straight into work at 18 and saved for a year so I could buy my first horse, who 7 years later I still have.  She means the world to me and has helped me live my dream.  Jojo has managed to describe this perfectly.  She’s evoked emotions and memories and also made me question how far I would go to ensure my horse was safe. 

Even if you’re not horsey I think you would still enjoy this book as it describes the way of life in such a way not to alienate readers. The book isn’t 100% horses it also follows a couple going through a divorse.  I think if you weren’t into horses that you would still find it a great read as it is so well written.

I really enjoyed this book so I’m rating it as a must read.

My next book is Second Time Around by Erin Kaye

I love to hear what you think, please leave me a message

