The Night Circus – Erin Morgenstern

“The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not.

The black sign, painted in white letters that hangs upon the gates, reads:

Opens at Nightfall

Closes at Dawn

As the sun disappears beyond the horizon, all over the tents small lights begin to flicker, as though the entirety of the circus is covered in particularly bright fireflies. When the tents are all aglow, sparkling against the night sky, the sign appears.

Le Cirque des Rêves

The Circus of Dreams.

Now the circus is open.

Now you may enter.”

Now you’ll have to bear with me somewhat as I’ve got a new laptop (MacBook) and I’m not used to Macs.  The quote section doesn’t seem to be working above for the blurb, so I’ve put it in speech marks and left a bit of a gap so hopefully you can see the difference.

Back to the book…

I’ve really enjoyed reading this book.  Like I said in my last post I wanted to venture a little outside my comfort zone.  With this book you’re transported into the real world 200 years ago where everyone has the same paranormal ability it’s just not everyone are aware enough to learn their skills.  I have to say that I did get a little confused (doesn’t take much!) with the chapters skipping around from year to year and also location to location.  When you’re reading it take note of the location and year – it helps trying to keep up with whats happening.  It is quite a complicated book, not one you could absently mindly read which I’m more used to.  I think  its the kind of book which you read once, and then again to sweep up the bits you’ve missed.

It is written really well.  I like Erin Morgenstern’s style and also the story is original which is refreshing in a world where we have to wade through the copy cat fan fiction to find the decent books.  I love the hidden messages; how you can achieve anything if you work at it.  But as usual I’m not too pleased with the ending.  I think my problem is I get so wrapped up in a book I don’t want it to finish.  So when it does I’m either left feeling cheated or wanting more.  For me I’m wanting more from this book, the ending isn’t how I imagined it whilst I was reading the book (no spoilers here) However I was left with a number of questions.  I suppose this just leaves it open for a sequel?  Will there be?  Doing a bit of internet stalking on Erin, says perhaps no 😦  But never mind.

I totally enjoyed this book…although it could be the mind control making me love it! lol (poor joke)  For me I don’t think it’s BOTM material (Book of the Month if you’re wondering) But I’ll place it as a Very Much Must Read.  So why dont you join me on my journey of stepping outside of my comfort zone?  Tell me what you thought of the book.

Next book is The Sugar Queen by Sarah Addison Allen

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rigel Ordinario
    Aug 08, 2012 @ 22:22:40

    Awesome review! I’ve been seeing copies of this everywhere but have been too wary to buy it. I want to read it so badly now. 🙂 And this is a NaNoWriMo novel, too, so I just have to…

    Reply

  2. rosiereview
    Aug 09, 2012 @ 12:36:18

    Hi Rigel, so excited that you liked my review. Hope you do read The Night Circus – let me know what you think!!!
    p.s What is NaNoWriMo?

    Reply

I love to hear what you think, please leave me a message

