Do You Come Here Often? – Alexandra Potter

Life’s full of surprises. Grace never expected to wake up on her thirty-first birthday and realise that Mr Right had turned into Mr Wrong. She never expected to break off her engagement. But then she never expected to go on honeymoon with her ex-boyfriend either. Set against a backdrop of a late-night radio show hosted by Dr Cupid who promises to sort out the love lives of his listeners, this is a romantic comedy that looks at what it’s like to be single again, about finding true love and how it can all get very, very complicated… 

I’m back to my chick-lit romance comfort zone.  And I’m not too sure if I like it.  I’m starting to think that one genre isn’t enough for me and perhaps now is the time to move outside of my comfort zone.

Back to the book, I did enjoy it.  I loved how you were kept guessing about why Jimi never called Grace until the end of the book.  I thought it was something to do with his exam results and his traditional father but no I was wrong.  I wont tell you as I don’t like my reviews to be spoilers.  I laughed in places and just as I thought it was getting slow we’d swap to another character and I’d find it hard to put it down.  But that said I didn’t read it with such urgency like I did with some other books.  Which in a way is nice not to have a book to take over your life so much seeing I’ve had a busy time this week with the event on Monday and yesterday I went to the Olympics to cheer on Team GB in the Equestrian Dressage.

I’m going off track again!  All in all this is a good book, it’s very well written the way Alexandra Potter explains and describes things in her book is good.  I liked that there wasn’t too many characters.  I knew from the very beginning who people were and even small parts like Tanya I remembered who she was when she appeared again further on in the book. Which I think is down to how the author has described and written about the characters.  I don’t retain names very well so it’s good to read a book where the author has taken time to lay the foundations of a character as it helps me hold on to their names and especially in Tanya’s case where she’s only in it twice (once at the beginning and then again towards the end)  So when she was brought back towards the end I didn’t think “Who the hell is this?”.  I was like “Oh, Tanya the snobby bitch from the birthday meal”

This isn’t an amazing book, however it is very entertaining and nicely written familiar story with a twist.  I’m rating this as a good read.

So to my next book a little different to what I’ve read and reviewed before; The Night Circus but Erin Morgenstern.  Hope I enjoy it!

I love to hear what you think, please leave me a message

