Rumours – Freya North

 

Everybody’s talking – but what’s really going on?

Rumour has it that Stella Hutton landed her new job thanks to family connections. She’s guarded about her past and private about her new life.

Over in Long Dansbury, there’s always a rumour circulating about Xander – but the eligible bachelor shrugs off village gossip.

Then a rumour starts that Longbridge Hall is up for sale. Home to the eccentric Fortescues, it has dominated Long Dansbury lives for centuries.

Stella is summoned to sell the estate. But Xander grew up there. His secrets and memories are not for sale. He’ll do anything to stand in Stella’s way. Anything but fall in love.

 

 

Another excellent offering from Freya North.  It will make you smile, laugh out loud and maybe even cry.  As with Freya’s other novels this one starts slow and steady, but still keeps you interested whilst it builds momentum throughout the book coming to a big ending.  The story line is fantastic.  Freya is such a good writer, she weaves an intricate story which at the same time is easy to follow.  I really enjoyed it.  This book has everything I look for in a book.  I fell in love with Longbridge as well as the characters – my favorite would be Will, he has quite  small part in the book but when he meets Lady Lydia for the first time it’s hilarious! There are a few unpredictable moments in the book – which I wont give away 🙂 but it’s nice to read a book where you haven’t guessed the ending, or one where you’ve guessed what’ll happen but carry on reading to found out how it pans out.  This book keeps you guessing throughout, so people might be more perspective than me but I’d like to think that I can spot an obvious ending when I see one – this book doesn’t have an obvious ending at all!

Such an entertaining read – no wonder Radio 4 chose it do be adapted into their Book at Beachtime series recently.  This book has inspired me to go back and read Freya’s earlier work again – so more Freya reviews coming soon!

I’m rating this as a must read

I love to hear what you think, please leave me a message

