Fifty Shades of Grey Trilogy

Romantic, liberating and totally addictive, Fifty Shades of Grey is a novel that will obsess you, possess you, and stay with you for ever.

When literature student Anastasia Steele interviews successful entrepreneur Christian Grey, she finds him very attractive and deeply intimidating. Convinced that their meeting went badly, she tries to put him out of her mind – until he turns up at the store where she works part-time, and invites her out.  Unworldly and innocent, Ana is shocked to find she wants this man. And, when he warns her to keep her distance, it only makes her want him more.

But Grey is tormented by inner demons, and consumed by the need to control. As they embark on a passionate love affair, Ana discovers more about her own desires, as well as the dark secrets Grey keeps hidden away from public view .

OMG I am back in the world of the living.  It’s alright, don’t panic it’s just I spent the past week reading these bloody books and now I think my brain has been tainted for the rest of my life.  I’m not too sure if that is a good or bad thing.  On the plus side I haven’t been on facebook/twitter for a week as all my spare time has been spent reading these books.  On the down side I’ve been left feeling cheated and a little bit cheap for what I have read/been exposed to.  Don’t get me wrong I like a saucy book just like the next girl, however even reading first sex scene which was quite tame compared to the rest I was like WTF?  It just isn’t realistic enough – it’s very fantasy.   But to me the appeal of fantasy is that there is some element of it could, maybe if I don’t step on the cracks in the pavement for the rest of the week happen to me.  There is no hope in hell am I going to find myself a Christian Grey – although lets face it we’re all more attracted to his money, penthouse suite and good looks than the fact he like to tie up small brunette women and beat them seven shades of Sunday with his twitchy palm?  Show me a girl who wouldn’t want a Audi R8, staff at their beck and call and a yacht?  I am no feminist – shoot me now!

This aside I enjoyed the story.  Enjoying finding out why Christian is like the way he is, reading how he deals with his demons and seeing that eventually he can be a hearts and flowers kinda guy.  Which then goes to make him even more unbelievable.  Maybe I need to stop reading fiction???  But for a good book to be enjoyable like I said before even fiction needs to have some kind of realism to it.  FFS I found LOR believable – why on earth did I have trouble with this?  I think my issues is having read them, finding out that it’s Twilight FanFiction.  It was a like a DOH! moment when I read that on the internet once I’d finished the trilogy.  Obviously Ana is so Bella and Christian is morning over his dark lost soul.  This does not compare to Twilight – I still hold a torch for Twilight, because it is believable right?  All I need to do is move to Forks and I’ll be introduced to a load of Vampire’s and native indians that shapeshift into Wolves.  Simples!  No, sorry Twihards, I’m a fan, but maybe not that much of a fan – I enjoy the escapism.  Lets just leave it at that.

Because of this I’m rating this as a good read – make of it as you will, but I will leave you with this…

All you people dissing this trilogy – don’t knock it until you’ve tried it.  The reason you haven’t read it is because you have some misconceptions on what it’s really like.  Read it, read all three books.  Then you can either feel enlightened or slightly cheap like I do.

I love to hear what you think, please leave me a message

