The Great Escape – Fiona Gibson

Can any woman ever grab back a piece of her younger self? For one weekend only, Hannah, Sadie and Lou are determined to give it their best shot.

Laugh-out-loud funny from the author that bought you Mum On The Run. Fiona’s writing deals with the real life cringe-worthy moments we all know so well…

Hannah’s getting married… and has serious pre-wedding jitters. She adores Ryan but can’t figure out how to fit into his grown-up, family-sized life. There’s that fridge, for starters. That, too, is family-sized, with a gadget on the front that spits ice in her face. More alarming still are Ryan’s children, Daisy, 10 and Josh, 13, who clearly don’t relish the prospect of Hannah, a free-spirited greetings card illustrator, becoming their step-mum.

So she fires off invitations to a hen weekend — just the ticket to get her into the marrying mood. Trouble is…

New mum Sadie is leaving her twin babies for the very first time with their terrified dad…

Lou is unaware that her long-term man Spike is desperate to bundle her onto that Glasgow-bound train so he can hot-foot it round to see his secret fling Miranda…

And, unbeknown to the girls, Johnny, their sexy upstairs neighbour from their art college days, is still frequenting those haunts, desperately in need of a little magic to happen.

Perfect for fans of Jane Costello, Kate Long and Tess Stimson.

I’m going to be honest and say that I didn’t enjoy this book.  Don’t get me wrong it’s an okay story.  But it’s just that – it’s an okay book.  It’s quite slow to begin with.  With so many characters introduced at one time; it was a bit difficult to remember who was who.  Also it didn’t seem to go anywhere, it was quite a while into the book when the girls went on their great escape and ended quite abruptly.  This is the first book I’ve read from Fiona Gibson, think I’ll try another one of hers just to see if I don’t get on with her writing style or if it’s just this book!

Advertisements

I’ve Got Your Number – Sophie Kinsella

I’ve lost it. 😦 The only thing in the world I wasn’t supposed to lose. My engagement ring. It’s been in Magnus’ family for three generations. And now, the very same day his parents are coming, I’ve lost it. The very same day. Do not hyperventilate, Poppy. Stay positive!! 🙂 A couple of glasses of bubbly with the girls at a charity do and Poppy’s life has gone into meltdown. Not only has she lost her engagement ring, but in the panic that followed, she’s lost her phone too. As she paces shakily round the hotel foyer she spots an abandoned phone in a bin. Finders keepers! Now she can leave a number with the hotel staff. It was meant to be! Except the phone’s owner, businessman Sam Roxton, doesn’t agree. He wants his phone back, and doesn’t appreciate Poppy reading all his messages and wading into his personal life. As Poppy juggles wedding preparations, phone messages and hiding her left hand from Magnus and his parents, can things get any more tangled?

Warning, do not read this book in public unless you don’t mind sitting on the train/bus/at work laughing hysterically and having to explain why you’re laughing.  Do read this book though, it’s such a mood lifter.  It’s an effortless read after you’ve gotten your head around the footnotes!  I read on my iPhone using the iBook ap, it involves tapping on the footnote number and the ap takes you to the corresponding footnote.   Think it might be due to my fat fingers but sometimes I would have difficulties getting back to where I was reading as the tap to get back doesn’t quite register.  The use of footnotes is genius, it adds to the humour and also builds the character’s personality – Poppy.

Poppy is getting married, to Magnus a really intelligent man from a very intelligent family.  They all have their work published and such which makes Poppy feel quite inferior.  Poppy loses her engagement ring which is a priceless family heirloom; she also gets her phone stolen.  Needing a phone to leave  a contact number with the hotel she finds a discarded mobile in a bin.   This is how she meets Sam.  It’s a very clever storyline with lots of embarrassing bits what’ll make you laugh out loud.

I think this is Sophie Kinsella’s best book; her work seems to get better and better.  Also as her books always keep you in suspense they’re great to read again and again.  As if you’re anything like me you fly through books like this to find out what happens next that you miss bits.  I’ve never found her work predictable, the twisting storylines keep you on the edge of your seat.  Without trying to give the plot away I loved the email and texting part – including the hilarious embarrassing bits when Poppy gets a bit too involved!

I really enjoyed this book and rating is a Must Read

A Walk In The Park – Jill Mansell

It’s been a while, but Lara Carson’s back in Bathand lives are set to change as a result. Because Lara left her family and boyfriend Flynn eighteen years ago without a word to anyone. Why has no one heard from her since? Her childhood best friend Evie is thrilled Lara’s back and able to share her happiness. Evie’s about to walk down the aisle with her dream man, Joel. Or so she thinks… Then there’s Flynn Erskine, even more attractive now and stunned to see Lara again. The spark between them is as strong as ever, but how’s Flynn going to react when he discovers the secret she’s been keeping from him? Oh yes, there’s a lot of catching up to be done…

I’ve waited a long time for my Jill Mansell fix and I haven’t been disapointed.  Her books seems to get better and better.  I like how in Jill Mansell style there is always drama along the way and she left me on tenterhooks throughout the book until the end.  My favourite character was Lara, the leading lady.  Jill has written her perfectly, well in fact she’s written all of the characters in this book perfectly. 

The storyline flows really well, be prepared this book is hard to put down!  I love Jill Mansell books, she jam packs them with lots of characters, substories, romance and comedy.  This book for me is better than To The Moon And Back and Rumour Has It.  If you haven’t read a Jill Mansell before be prepared you’ll be buying her other twenty two!

A Walk In the Park is my March Book of the Month

%d bloggers like this: