Pear Shaped – Stella Newman

If you found yourself glued to David Nicholls’s One Day or belting out the lyrics to Amy Winehouse’s Back to Black then you’ll love this book.

Girl meets boy.
Girl loses boy.
Girl loses mind.

Sophie Klein walks into a bar one Friday night and her life changes. She meets James Stephens: charismatic, elusive, and with a hosiery model ex who casts a long, thin shadow over their burgeoning relationship. He’s clever, funny and shares her greatest pleasure in life – to eat and drink slightly too much and then have a little lie down. Sophie’s instinct tells her James is too good to be true – and he is.

An exploration of love, heartbreak, self-image, self-deception and lots of food. Pear-Shaped is in turns smart, laugh-out-loud funny and above all, recognizable to women everywhere.

I don’t think I’ve read anything like this.  Which I think is a good thing!  I have quite a busy lifestyle, I work full-time, read for fun and also juggle a fiance and dog at home with a horse in a field somewhere; so I like a book which has lots of chapters.  Not to small and not too big so that I can read a chapter or few at a time and put the book down to be picked up again later on.  Suppose that is the OCD in me, I don’t like to leave anything unfinished, so can’t put a book down mid chapter.  This book only has Four chapters including the Epilogue.  Luckily for me there were page breaks along the way so I compromised and used them as my mini chapters.  I was twitchy in between, itching to go back and read some more, but I think it was more down to the fact that I was thoroughly enjoying this book.  I love how the chapters were a perfect start to how Sophie was at that stage in the book.  Especially the crumble one when she was falling apart!

I felt I could relate to Sophie; she has weight issues, and loves pudding!  My book character soul mate!  Although I did find myself disagreeing with her at some point – a UK size 12 is not fat!  But I can see how this is just how the author, Stella is highlighting the pressure women are put under by the media, celebs, men to stay skinny.   The obsessive relationship (which leads to) and Sophie’s breakdown is very well written.  I love the witty insides you get from Sophie whilst she’s at work, or  wherever; although at first and at points they were confusing.  But they helped the storyline and to also build the character.

There wasn’t one boring bit in the book, I liked how Stella has just briefly mentions things that Sophie’s doing, I start to read it and just as I think it’s getting slow we jump a few days ahead to a date with James or a meeting with Devron.  Also I can’t make up my mind who I hate more James or Devron – but in a good way – if you’ve read the book you’ll know why!  And the trip to Paris with Will was superb!

I really enjoyed this book, I haven’t read One Day so I can’t really compare it.  I’m rating it a Must Read

I love to hear what you think, please leave me a message

