Me Before You – Jojo Moyes

Lou Clark knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. She knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick.

What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane.

Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. He knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.

What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time.

I was gripped from the beginning with this read from Jojo Moyes.  I found it moving, funny and hard to put down.  This was the first book of hers that I’ve read and normally I find it hard to move to a new author but after the first page I was hooked. I enjoyed the main story and the little sub-lines throughout added depth to book but without distracting from subject in hand.  I liked the way that the book had mini cliff hangers where the narrative flitted from different character’s POV.

I found myself giggling at quite a bit, which didn’t feel wrong even through the main subject is quite sombre.  I’ll be honest here and say that had I known that this book was about assisted suicide I wouldn’t have been so keen on buying it, but I am pleased I didn’t know!  I feel that the book has been well researched from all angles, not just the main characters.

This book I’m rating as a must read, Jojo Moyes is an author to watch 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Regina Lopes (@_ReginaLopes)
    Apr 17, 2012 @ 15:21:37

    This book is the next one I’m going to read after I finish the one I’m currently reading. I was actually looking for reviews because I wasn’t sure the book would be my cup of tea. But after reading your review, I’m quite looking forward to it!

    Reply

I love to hear what you think, please leave me a message

